Claudio Sanchez http://hppr.org en Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP http://hppr.org/post/common-core-turns-business-leaders-against-oklahoma-gop Mike Neal gets annoyed when he talks about politicians in his state. Just three years ago, when the Common Core State Standards for education were implemented, no one had a problem with them, says Neal, president of the Tulsa, Okla., Regional Chamber of Commerce.<p>"It's been a really frustrating situation to the business community in Oklahoma in that we've all been on the same page, from the governor, the House, the Senate, school board members," Neal says. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:49:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 30054 at http://hppr.org Common Core Turns Business Leaders Against Oklahoma GOP As Common Core Tests Approach, So Does A Sea Change In Schools http://hppr.org/post/common-core-tests-approach-so-does-sea-change-schools Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>We're going to spend the next few minutes on a sea change in America's schools, the Common Core. It sets new benchmarks for reading and math for students from kindergarten through high school. It has been adopted in 45 states and the District of Columbia. But the changes are controversial. Opponents are racing to stop them even as teachers struggle to implement them. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 29269 at http://hppr.org How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High http://hppr.org/post/how-cost-college-went-affordable-sky-high <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YL4PP2kS-fg</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:02:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 29237 at http://hppr.org How The Cost Of College Went From Affordable To Sky-High College Board Breaks Out Red Pen For SAT Corrections http://hppr.org/post/college-board-breaks-out-red-pen-sat-corrections Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>The most widely used measure of a student's readiness for college is getting a makeover. The College Board is changing the SAT. It's the second major revision of the test in nine years.<p>NPR's Claudio Sanchez joins us now to tell us what the new SAT might look like. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 28713 at http://hppr.org Teachers Unions Mobilize To Delay The Common Core http://hppr.org/post/teachers-unions-mobilize-delay-common-core Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The nation's largest teachers union is calling for a delay in the adoption of the Common Core. That's the name of new math and language arts standards that are supposed to be in place next fall in 45 states. The 3 million-member National Education Association has been a strong supporter. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 28465 at http://hppr.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? http://hppr.org/post/part-time-professors-demand-higher-pay-will-colleges-listen When you think about minimum-wage workers, college professors don't readily come to mind. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 27522 at http://hppr.org Part-Time Professors Demand Higher Pay; Will Colleges Listen? Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound http://hppr.org/post/parents-worry-schools-overlook-girls-who-arent-college-bound Kyrah Whatley, 17, is a bright student with pretty good grades. But the thought of spending two to four more years in a college classroom is depressing, she says.<p>Masonry, on the other hand, intrigues her. "I'm a kinesthetic learner. ... Wed, 11 Dec 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 25415 at http://hppr.org Parents Worry Schools Overlook Girls Who Aren't College-Bound Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools http://hppr.org/post/kids-pay-price-fight-over-fixing-philadelphia-schools <em>This is the first in a three-part report on Philadelphia schools in crisis. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 24593 at http://hppr.org Kids Pay The Price In Fight Over Fixing Philadelphia Schools Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami http://hppr.org/post/pitbull-mr-education-rapper-opens-charter-school-miami Rapper Pitbull (Armando Christian Pérez) is the latest in a long list of celebrities lending their star power to the flourishing charter school movement. Alicia Keyes, Denzel Washington, Shakira, Oprah — all support or sponsor charter schools.<p>The <a href="http://www.slammiami.com/" target="_blank">Sports Leadership And Management Academy (SLAM)</a>, Pitbull's new public charter school for students in grades six through 12, opened this fall in Miami's Little Havana neighborhood. Tue, 15 Oct 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 22985 at http://hppr.org Is Pitbull 'Mr. Education'? Rapper Opens Charter School In Miami College Board 'Concerned' About Low SAT Scores http://hppr.org/post/college-board-concerned-about-low-sat-scores The College Board, sponsor of the SAT, says <a href="http://research.collegeboard.org/programs/sat/data/cb-seniors-2013" target="_blank">latest scores show</a> that roughly 6 in 10 college-bound high school students who took the test were so lacking in their reading, writing and math skills, they were unprepared for college-level work.<p>The College Board is calling for big changes to better prepare students for college and career.<p><strong>Stagnant Scores</strong><p>The average SAT score this year was 1498 out of a possible 2400. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 21:31:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 22174 at http://hppr.org College Board 'Concerned' About Low SAT Scores In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated http://hppr.org/post/push-common-standards-many-parents-left-uneducated Forty-five states have adopted the Common Core State Standards, the first-ever national academic standards for students. But opposition is growing, and some lawmakers are having second thoughts about their states' support.<p>Meanwhile, proponents of the standards are still struggling to explain the initiative to parents, many of whom say they've never even heard of Common Core.<p><strong>Looking For Direction</strong><p>Cynthia Clay has been a teacher and administrator in Middletown, Del., for 31 years. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 20:59:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 21966 at http://hppr.org In Push For 'Common' Standards, Many Parents Left Uneducated The Sad Death Of An Adjunct Professor Sparks A Labor Debate http://hppr.org/post/adjunct-professor-dies-destitute-then-sparks-debate The death of a long-time, part-time professor in Pittsburgh is gathering the attention of instructors nationwide. The trend of relying on part-time faculty has been in the works for decades, and Margaret Mary Vojtko's story is seen by some as a tragic byproduct.<p>Last spring, months before her death, Vojtko showed up at a meeting between adjunct professors at Duquesne University and the union officials who had been trying to organize them. Sun, 22 Sep 2013 11:37:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 21954 at http://hppr.org New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts http://hppr.org/post/new-school-year-brings-sequestration-pain-many-districts The superintendent of the Lancaster, Pa., school district is meeting with teachers and staff at George Washington Elementary. It's the start of a new school year, and he's trying to sound upbeat about the district's finances.<p>"We continue to lose 5 and 10 percent of budgets each year," Pedro Rivera tells them. "And our overall goal is to make those plans and stretch out dollars to not impact you, because no kids should go without. Right?"<p>Applause is polite but scattered, and Rivera's question hangs in the air. Sat, 07 Sep 2013 10:25:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 21292 at http://hppr.org New School Year Brings Sequestration Pain For Many Districts Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? http://hppr.org/post/does-data-exist-make-college-rating-system-work President Obama unveiled a plan on Thursday that would, for the first time, tie federal student aid to a new rating system for colleges and universities. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 21:08:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 20602 at http://hppr.org Do The Data Exist To Make A College-Rating System Work? What's Behind The Turnaround At Miami Public Schools? http://hppr.org/post/whats-behind-turnaround-miami-public-schools Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>For years, Miami-Dade County Public Schools faced problems common to many urban schools: low attendance, high dropout rates, poor grades. But since 2008, Alberto Carvalho has been in charge of the nation's fourth largest school district, and there've been some noticeable improvements in Miami schools. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:22:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 20486 at http://hppr.org The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues http://hppr.org/post/charter-school-vs-public-school-debate-continues Charter schools turn 21 this year. In that time, these privately run, publicly funded schools have spread to 41 states and enrolled more than 2 million students.<p>But one key question lingers: Do kids in charter schools learn more than kids in traditional public schools?<p>There have been lots of skirmishes over charter school data over the years. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 18893 at http://hppr.org The Charter School Vs. Public School Debate Continues Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 http://hppr.org/post/student-loan-rates-set-double-july-1 The interest rate on government-backed student loans is going to jump from 3.4 percent to 6.8 percent Monday.<p>Republicans, Democrats and the Obama administration could not agree on a plan to keep it from happening. Lawmakers say a deal is still possible after the July 4 recess. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 08:44:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 18024 at http://hppr.org Student Loan Rates Set To Double On July 1 Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks http://hppr.org/post/study-teacher-prep-programs-get-failing-marks The U.S. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 06:56:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 17566 at http://hppr.org Study: Teacher Prep Programs Get Failing Marks Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist http://hppr.org/post/online-college-courses-get-big-boost-doubts-persist From New Mexico to New York, 10 state university systems have announced they are joining the ranks of elite institutions embracing the massive open online course, or MOOC, system.<p>On Thursday, they unveiled a landmark partnership with <a href="https://www.coursera.org/">Coursera, a for-profit tech company</a> with 3.5 million registered students. Thu, 30 May 2013 20:54:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 16719 at http://hppr.org Online College Courses Get A Big Boost, But Doubts Persist 30 Years On, Educators Still Divided On Scathing Schools Report http://hppr.org/post/30-years-educators-still-divided-scathing-schools-report Thirty years ago this week, President Ronald Reagan's administration released "A Nation at Risk," a report warning of "a rising tide of mediocrity" in American public education.<p>According to the report, only one-third of 17-year-olds in 1983 could solve a math problem requiring two steps or more, and 4 out of 10 teenagers couldn't draw inferences from written material. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 21:07:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 15232 at http://hppr.org 'Core' Curriculum Puts Education Experts At Odds http://hppr.org/post/core-curriculum-puts-education-experts-odds At 2 p.m., it's crunchtime for students who write for <a href="http://smeharbinger.net/">The Harbinger Online</a><em>,</em> the award-winning, student news site at Shawnee Mission East High just outside Kansas City, Kan. Sun, 14 Apr 2013 08:58:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 14689 at http://hppr.org El Paso Schools Cheating Scandal: Who's Accountable? http://hppr.org/post/el-paso-schools-cheating-scandal-probes-officials-accountability No one knows if Atlanta's school superintendent or any of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/03/29/175728192/grand-jury-indicts-dozens-of-atlanta-educators-over-cheating-scandal">people accused of falsifying test results</a> will go to jail, but they wouldn't be the first if they do.<p>Lorenzo Garcia, the former superintendent of schools in El Paso, Texas, has been sitting in a federal prison since last year. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 21:50:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 14557 at http://hppr.org El Paso Schools Cheating Scandal: Who's Accountable? Study: More Adult Pell Grant Students, Not Enough Graduating http://hppr.org/post/study-more-adult-pell-grant-students-not-enough-graduating The federal government each year gives needy college students billions of dollars they don't have to pay back — $34.5 billion to be exact. More than 9 million students rely on the Pell Grant program. But a new study says much of the money is going to people who never graduate.<p>Sandy Baum, an expert on student financial aid, has been leading a group in a study of the 48-year-old Pell Grant program. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 12:08:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 14528 at http://hppr.org Race, Poverty Central To National School-Closure Debate http://hppr.org/post/race-poverty-central-national-school-closure-debate In Chicago, parents are fighting to prevent the city from <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/03/22/175014378/chicago-to-close-54-public-schools">closing 54 public schools</a>. Sat, 23 Mar 2013 10:22:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 13846 at http://hppr.org Race, Poverty Central To National School-Closure Debate Sequester Spells Uncertainty For Many Public Schools http://hppr.org/post/sequester-spells-uncertainty-many-public-schools If Congress and the Obama administration can't agree on a budget deal by Friday, the federal government will be forced to cut $85 billion from just about every federally funded program. Every state could lose federal aid, and a myriad of government programs could shut down or curtail services — and that includes the nation's public schools.<p>There is one bit of good news for schools: Because most federal aid to schools is forward-funded, the cuts triggered by sequestration would not hit classrooms until September at the earliest. Wed, 27 Feb 2013 22:19:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 12879 at http://hppr.org Sequester Spells Uncertainty For Many Public Schools Union Backs 'Bar Exam' For Teachers http://hppr.org/post/union-backs-bar-exam-teachers The system for preparing and licensing teachers in the U.S. is in such disarray that the American Federation of Teachers is proposing a <a href="http://www.aft.org/newspubs/press/2012/120212.cfm" target="_blank">"bar exam"</a> similar to the one lawyers have to pass before they can practice.<p>Currently, there's a patchwork of different certification requirements that vary state by state. There's no single standard to determine who's fit and who's not fit to teach. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 11668 at http://hppr.org Union Backs 'Bar Exam' For Teachers Holiday Travelers Stranded By Severe Weather http://hppr.org/post/holiday-travelers-stranded-severe-weather Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>A series of rare December tornados flattening homes in the South added to the winter woes of millions of Americans from Texas to Maine. Faced with heavy snow, rains and high winds throughout, hundreds of flights have been canceled, leaving many holiday travelers stranded. NPR's Claudio Sanchez has this report.<p>CLAUDIO SANCHEZ, BYLINE: Brad Williams has been staying in Little Rock, Arkansas with relatives for the holidays. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 09:34:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 10451 at http://hppr.org In California, Parents Trigger Change At Failing School http://hppr.org/post/california-parents-trigger-change-failing-school Parents in one small California community have used a "parent-trigger" law for the first time to shut down and take over an elementary school. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 08:15:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 9997 at http://hppr.org In California, Parents Trigger Change At Failing School Firestorm Erupts Over Virginia's Education Goals http://hppr.org/post/firestorm-erupts-over-virginias-education-goals As part of Virginia's waiver to opt out of mandates set out in the No Child Left Behind law, the state has created a controversial new set of education goals that are higher for white and Asian kids than for blacks, Latinos and students with disabilities.<p>Virginia Democratic state Sen. Mon, 12 Nov 2012 20:05:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 8793 at http://hppr.org With Varied Approach, Candidates Push School Choice http://hppr.org/post/varied-approach-candidates-push-school-choice The right to choose the school you want your child to attend has been the subject of court battles and bitter political debates. Still, both President Obama and GOP challenger Mitt Romney have made school choice a cornerstone of their efforts to reform public education.<p>Romney says he wants to give every student trapped in a failing school the chance to attend a better school. Sat, 13 Oct 2012 10:17:00 +0000 Claudio Sanchez 7586 at http://hppr.org With Varied Approach, Candidates Push School Choice