HPPR Board of Directors & governance

High Plains Public Radio is governed by the Board of Directors of the Kanza Society Inc., the nonprofit 501(c)(3) corporation that operates HPPR and holds its FCC licenses.  See below for information on upcoming board meetings, the current board membership, further background on the board and information on serving as an HPPR board member.

Next meeting of the KANZA Society Inc is Saturday, July 25th at 9:00 AM in Liberal, KS. The location will be announced at a later date.

The Annual Meeting of the KANZA Society Inc will be in July 25th at 1:00 PM. The location will be announced at a later date.. 

The next meeting of the Community Advisory Council will be Wednesday, October 14th at 6pm via conference call. If you are interested in attending this meeting, please let Deb Oyler know.

HPPR Community Advisory Council

Sep 11, 2013

HPPR’s Community Advisory Council, as required by federal law, reviews the programming goals established by HPPR, the service provided by HPPR, and the significant policy decisions rendered by HPPR, and assesses whether the programming and other policies of the station are meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by HPPR.  The CAC deliberates independently of station management and HPPR’s Board of Directors, determining its own agenda and electing its own leadership.

Upcoming Community Advisory Council and Board Meeting

Apr 22, 2013

The Community Advisory Council meets via conference call or in-person periodically throughout the year. The next meeting will be Wednesday, October 14th at 6pm via phone conference. Contact Deb Oyler, Executive Director, at 1-800-678-7444 or director@hppr.org for more information.

KANZA Society Inc (governing board for HPPR) will meet Saturday, July 25th in Liberal, KS. The location will be determined at a later date.

Rod Buchele, Garden City, KS, President

Charles Kessie, Canadian, TX, Vice President

Joel Herndon, Dighton, KS Secretary

Linda Schlegel, Garden City, KS, Treasurer

Stanley Adleman, Amarillo, TX, Member

Greta Clark, Dodge City, KS, Member

Barbara Clinkscales, Hays, KS Member

Tony Hardman, Goodwell, OK, Member

Joel Herndon, Dighton, Member

Wayne Hughes, Amarillo, TX, Past President

Paul Phillips, Hays, KS, Member

Greg Rohloff, Amarillo, TX, Member

Robert Trevino, Amarillo, TX, Member

The HPPR (Kanza Society Inc.) board consists of 11 to 18 members, including officer positions of President, Vice-president, Secretary and Treasurer.  Board members must be current members (financial contributors) of HPPR and are not compensated for their services. 

Terms are for three years with service limited to two consecutive terms, though past members may be return to the board.  Approximately one-third of the board is elected each year.