In the past, many Texans neglected to buy a gun because the licensing fee was too hefty. It appears that will no longer be the case, as the Texas Tribune reports. On Sept. 1., a new law went into effect, lowering the cost to get a handgun license in Texas by $100.
The law, Senate Bill 16, lowers the first-time fee for a five-year license to carry from $140 to $40. The new law also lowered the renewal fee, from $70 to $40.
Though the law will make it easier for everyday Texans to obtain guns, the fee reduction is expected to cost the state almost $13 million next year. As of last year, there were more than a million active handgun license holders in Texas. That number is expected to climb now.
With the implementation of this new law, the Lone Star State will become one of the cheapest places to buy a handgun in America.